Away from the digger

I smell a rat!  Or is it the pigeons?

For the last couple of days on my morning patrol of the back garden, I have seen a hole in the soil by one particular cucumber plant. I’m curious. And not a little concerned in case someone has got a whiff of the bokashi mix in this hugel bed. 

Apart from rushing inside for a trowel to push the soil back in place, though, I haven’t exactly exerted myself in the garden. Instead, I’ve been exploring in different ways.

On Wednesday, it was nature. We went to Woodhouse Ridge in Leeds with Leeds Permaculture Network. This used to be a municipal park but fell into disuse and in recent years has begun to be managed, albeit as woodland rather than parkland.

 

Woodhouse Ridge

 
On Friday, I similarly found some relatively natural land to walk through. By Kirkstall Abbey in Leeds, there is a river and it is possible, just about, to walk along the banks – there is a path which tapers off, unfortunately. More fortunately, however, I found some wild raspberries, which I delighted in picking and eating with homemade ice cream for tea.

When I first moved to Leeds, Kirkstall Abbey was an unmanaged ruin. In recent years, thankfully, the council has taken an interest in improving the area and now it is protected by a fence and being rebuilt in places.

An addition which I only noticed and didn’t have time to explore yesterday were the kitchen gardens. I have no idea if monks would really have had raised beds but these had plenty of variety in them, including rather large borage plants. I wonder if they ate the flowers in salad?

kitchen gardens at Kirkstall Abbey

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Away from the digger

  1. gaiainaction says:

    A lovely write-up Helen, really enjoyed. Have a restful and enjoyable weekend.

  2. Hi, I think those raised beds look amazing! Keep an eye on that hole in your garden … sounds like you might have visitors …

    • Helen says:

      I’ve just checked and fortunately the spot by the cucumber is untouched.

      There is also the possibility of soil simply collapsing as it has been dug and is so dry. I think I got rid of the mouse with peppermint oil, though I don’t think that would be digging anyway?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

