Self-seed City

I’m starting to see how land returns to nature. I am cultivating but, without chemicals and continuous digging, there are some interesting goings-on in the back garden.

Last night, I took down the last of the phacelia, so that I could prepare the ground for cauliflowers. One of the claimed beauties of green manure is that it suppresses weeds. And this logically is likely to be true, although you wouldn’t think it from what I found underneath the ferny fronds.

hidden delights and otherwise

I think at some point I will have to take my spade to the space where the blackberry bush used to be and get the roots out. It could very well take over the vegetable patch if I turned my back for a moment. Indeed, it certainly has had a good go over the past few months under the phacelia.

There were also weeds and silver birch seedlings under there as well as a lone cauliflower from last year, which had not had chance to develop. Pity it didn’t have the vigour of the aforementioned brambles. On the other hand, no doubt the silver birch seedlings would have eventually become trees!

It’s not all doom and frustration, however. I am very pleased to have the nasturtium back after last year (in more places than last year as well) and the strawberry plants are producing runners left, right and centre. So, the floor of my forest garden is gradually getting covered without my having to lift much of a finger 😊.

nasturtium where I had intended the courgettes to be

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Self-seed City

  1. mybrightlife says:

    Love nasturtiums. Ours are also doing well!

  2. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing I sown some nasturtiums this year had done in my old garden all round my veg pot area have a blessed day

  3. gaiainaction says:

    How nice Helen, things will just come and grow and that’s one of the wonders and pleasure of observing your garden, finding treasures. Warm greetings from a damp West Cork!

  4. drofmit4108 says:

    You are so right about the Silver Birch seedlings…
    I “rescued” some from the woodchip covered car parking space on a student let on Chapel Lane…
    brought them on in pots to begin with… then planted them out here…
    now there are eight small chunks of LS6 reaching for the sky in central France…
    as well as a scion of the Original Oak that I was given…

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

