Next phase in the front garden

It’s the start of ten days off work and I want my time to be as productive as possible. So what better way to procrastine over jobs in the house than to get into the garden!

The phacelia and other green manures in the front garden have come to an end now, and I cut them all down last weekend. Some of the stalks I used as mulch round my crops but I also wanted ground cover at the front. I don’t want any animals taking a fancy to it as a toilet again, apart from anything else. 

 

front garden 17 July 2015

 
The cover will also hopefully reduce weeds getting a hold and prevent erosion until the autumn, when I get the main planting done. (I plan to transfer ornamentals from the back so that the forest garden can be filled with more perennial edibles.)

Now, in the front, there is still some of the original lawn to kill off. Round the edges, in particular, where the cardboard and manure didn’t quite cover the ground, it has been growing quite vigorously. So, more cardboard has gone down. And this time, instead of manure, I’ve put homemade compost on the top. This should be less attractive for the kitties.

To top it all, lettuce seeds have been sown. Hopefully, with the fewer hours of direct sunlight on this spot, any plants that germinate won’t bolt over the summer months.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Next phase in the front garden

  1. Awesome post thank for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  2. I’m happy to hear you have a nice, long break coming up. I hope you have many enjoyable days in the garden. There is always much to do this time of year. Enjoy it all.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

