Peas

Now, I didn’t expect to be harvesting any peas this year, let alone blogging about them. However, something unusual, or perhaps not so unusual, has been happening with my mangetout.

When cooking them as mangetout (snow peas I think they are in America), the pods were a bit grisly. Unless I steamed them till all goodness had probably been removed. And I noticed that they seemed to forming peas inside the pods very quickly. It didn’t happen like this last year.

Since the mangetout seemed determined to present themselves as peas, I therefore decided to grow them as such. Then this evening I thought it was about time to do a bit of picking and shelling.

 

peas cum mangetout


A pity about the pods but they can be fed to the bokashi bin. And tomorrow I might just try my hand at ham and pea soup. (The gammon from my local organic farm was a bit too salty but the butcher said if you boil gammon it becomes ham, and that’s what I’m up to right now.) 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Peas

  1. I picked a load of peas yesterday . Happy me 😄

  2. Make pea pod soup!!! One of my favourite all time soups!

  3. drofmit4108 says:

    What variety are you growing, Helen…
    there are numerous types under the general heading “mangetout”…
    some need to be eaten when very small amnd no peas are showing…
    however, we’ve been growing Sugar Bon, seed from Lidl…
    they are a mangetout variety known as “sugar snap” peas and are really pretty stringless.
    Pauline has just picked the stragglers and, because these HAD been left too long…
    shelled the peas like you have… they were wonderfully sweet!!
    The chooks had the pods… they are a sort of walking bokashi bin!!

    • Helen says:

      Carouby de Mausanne. Someone else, who is also growing these, thought they were tasteless but didn’t seem to have the same problem with stringiness.

      I think the issue could be lack of water. The instructions on the packet suggest that it is normal for these to grow long before picking but even the small ones (about an inch long) have peas in the pod.

      I bet your chickens had a good feast, anyway 🙂

  4. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

