And to go with the potatoes…..

 

first carrot crop 2015

 
Sometimes I wonder if I am cut out for gardening. After five years of attempting to grow my own, there are crops which take up more effort than I get back from them. 

Yes, every year produces new challenges. And yes, there are some things which I no longer buy in the shops but…..

With regard to the carrots I picked today, they are a variety designed for heavier soils. Hence, the globe shape. And they certainly tasted nice.

A few more have sprung up in a place I didn’t sow them, so I must have dropped seed when I was sowing in an area where they haven’t done well at all. Still, they have about a month left to mature before I take out the onions and build another hugel bed.

One thing I have learned from this experience is that carrots need quite a lot of water. Being tucked under the mangetout and Jerusalem artichokes was no doubt a tad too much for the ones I pulled up today. But at least they didn’t get attacked by carrot root fly 🙂

home of the first carrot crop

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to And to go with the potatoes…..

  1. We have never had luck growing carrots. I don’t know why.

  2. mybrightlife says:

    You love your garden! I don’t think I know of anyone that gardens with the commitment that you do. Trial and error, that is life….keep digging!

    • Helen says:

      You should see some allotmenteers –

    • Helen says:

      they live on their allotment 😉.

      You are right about trial and error, anyway. Five years might be half a decade but in understanding the complexity of the plant world it ain’t much!

      • drofmit4108 says:

        No, we don’t… we moved to France….
        now we live in our allotment!! L.O.L.
        It is a twenty-six hour, sixteen day a week job at this time of the year…
        but it is worth it.
        Our premise is that it isn’t worth growing something that is grown locally to good quality at a reasonable price…
        so we concentrate on the unobtainable, the ultra-expensive and things that may well be cheaper in the shops… but have no flavour… viz: tomatoes… only twenty different varieties this year… best all rounder… Vanessa… looks like a shop tom… but tastes wonderful.
        On the carrot front… go with Linda’s method… 50% compost and 50% sand… deepest trough planter you can find… or make your own.
        Needs more watering, naturally…. but you can lift it higher than the carrot fly can fly!
        Keep on gardening…
        it is healthy, you enjoy it, your sprogling enjoys it, you learn new things every week…
        and when you get to our age… relearn…
        you will never be self-sufficient in a little garden… we aren’t yet… somethings we like just won’t grow here… and we don’t grow enough to barter properly… but, we are fitter…
        eat better… relax more…
        keep gardening!!

        • Helen says:

          Thank you, Tim. I wasn’t seriously thinking about not gardening 🙂

          Your rationale for what to grow is a good one. Hence, apart from my compost bin experiment, I don’t grow potatoes. On the other hand, brassicas tend to do well in my soil and it’s great to be able to pop outside for lettuce whenever I want it.

          As I move more towards perennial gardening, I would still like a few annual crops, as starting off seeds and seeing what you end up with is fun, even if it doesn’t save me any money of significance.

      • drofmit4108 says:

        Lettuce are a perfect crop…
        so much better than the frazzled finds on Morrisoffs counters!

  3. Lovely update Helen your carrots are lovely maybe try them in Planter if you have room next year ?
    have a blessed day

  4. I think Jersalem artichoke would scare most pests off (LOL). There are a few veg I have probs growing and carrots are one of them. They do like friable soil .. and I reckon being treated with kid gloves 🙂

  5. It’s trial and error and error and error. I feel for you. But the joy is in the doing and the learning so please don’t feel too discouraged.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

