Camley Street Nature Park

I found London a bit much on my visit over the last few days. The crowds, the buses and the concrete. Well, brick and stone…..

Then, by chance, we discovered a centre along the lines of Skelton Grange Conservation Centre near us in Leeds. Camley Street Nature Park is situated just behind Kings Cross station and when you are there you would never believe you were in the middle of a mega city!

Created from an old coal yard, it is now home to a wood and a pond and it runs events for those with a mind to conservation. According to a panel giving information, England has lost 98% of its original woodland, so it is important at the very least to preserve what is left. However, wouldn’t it be great if we could get our trees back?

Being realistic we have to feed ourselves and the sizeable population needs to be housed, so woods of oak and alder are not all we need. At the same time, the more spaces which can be filled with our native trees, the better it will be for all.

 

the pond

  

dragonfly?

 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Camley Street Nature Park

  1. drofmit4108 says:

    What’s wrong with a bit of Agroforestry then…
    and the value of green space is that it reduces hospital attendance…
    except for the volunteers who do the work…
    of course!!

    • Helen says:

      I am sure this space will do wonders…. Except I wonder how many of the people in the park while we were there actually live in Camden? (I have a friend who teaches in a primary school just behind Kings Cross, so I will speak to her about it.)

  2. It is important to preserve what is left. We are so gung-ho at removing trees and woodland it’s nice to give back ..

  3. Like that dragonfly too šŸ˜€

  4. lovely post have blessed day

  5. 98%! That is a sobering statistic. I’m glad you found a bit of lovely nature amid all that brick and stone.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, the park was refreshing!

      As for the trees, I guess the whole world was once covered in trees. Now the fight is on to save the last of the forest in places like the Amazon.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

