Gob-smacked

Image

Spring 2012 – Just before I started blogging


Fiddling around, I’ve just come across the above photo. My first reaction was to laugh out loud. Seriously!

This was my garden – yes, mine – only three years ago. I know it was spring, and early spring at that, but in comparison with what greeted me yesterday evening on my return from London, it was clearly a very different place. I even still had half a lawn….

garden 25 July 2015

Instead of lawn, I’ve now got a thriving vegetable patch. And last night, the onions were the first thing that sprung out from the crowd. The cucumbers also appear to be doing noticeably well, although they are still but small. At least they have been fertilised, so I won’t have the shenanigans I had this time last year.

I certainly don’t feel quite as dismayed by my gardening efforts now, anywayπŸ˜ƒ.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
Aside | This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Gob-smacked

  1. mybrightlife says:

    All you needed was a little stroll down memory lane to confirm that you are indeed a talented gardener.

  2. your garden has come on lovey Helen have a blessed day

  3. Wow, what a difference! We’re very envious that your onions are doing so well – we lost our entire crop last month to onion fly. Well done, Helen!

    • Helen says:

      Thank you! I must say, I am rather pleased myself. All the stuff I’ve got from Old Sleningford Farm has done very well. Perhaps they get better quality stuff from suppliers who sell to farmers and such like?!

      Sad about your onions, though. I don’t know anything about onion fly – how prevalent they are and if they come back year after year. I wonder if companion planting would help?

      As for the reason for the difference at the back of the garden, it is in part because I now have lots of perennial stuff there, so it simply isn’t bare anymore. It did look rather desolate back then, didn’t it!

      • Well, we tried planting marigolds alongside the onions, but they didn’t seem to work. We grew beautiful onions last year, but this year, the whole allotment site seemed to be affected with onion fly, we noticed our neighbours’ plots suffering as well. You win some, you lose some! But anyway, your garden is looking really great πŸ™‚

  4. Good, how exciting! Your garden is looking wonderful …

  5. Pingback: Contrasting the seasons | silverbells steps out

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

