Fennel from a different angle

The first ever fennel I grew in my garden was the herb variety. I got a three inch pot from RHS Harlow Carr and put it in the pot with the fir tree I got from a friend as a moving in present.

Last year, I transplanted the fir along with the fennel. The fir needed to be in soil and since then it has shown that this was the right move.

The fennel has done likewise. It is now well over six feet tall and flowering. And I mean flowering….

 

fennel herb in flower


I did get both flowers and then seeds the first year I had it but then I was either negligent or nothing happened. But by the looks of things, I am going to get quite a few seeds this time round. And I’m so looking forward to eating them toasted. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fennel from a different angle

  1. drofmit4108 says:

    Helen, a word of advice….
    Cut all the seedheads off whilst still green…
    but with nice fat heads…
    and dry them in a paper bag.
    We made the mistake of leaving them until “ready”….
    now we spend our spare moments…
    any spare moments…
    pulling up all the cursed seedling fennel….
    and it has to be pulled up…
    leave a good bit of root there and it is back to haunt you in a few weeks!
    And minus twenty-one degrees Centipede didn’t kill the mother either…
    her roots are too deep to be affected!
    Tim…
    drowning in very small fennel plants…
    gazillions of the horrid things!!

    • Helen says:

      Oh dear, another self-seed horror…. I’ve got that with rocket. I do like the stuff but it also self-seeds like crazy AND has long, strong roots!

  2. Lovely update Helen I have the bronze fennel out the front on one side hoping it will kill the nasty grass and also I am leaving my marigolds to seed as well

    • Helen says:

      Bronze fennel looks so lovely. I had one of those but it died on me. Anyway, I hope yours sorts the grass out at the front for you.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

