My garden needs me!

This evening, as usual, I went out to water everything in the greenhouse and en route noticed that one of the kale seedlings had been wolfed down. And I know by whom.

I have another resident mouse. I’ve seen it scurrying about but this time I don’t know where it lives. And until this evening, I had not seen any damage but now I am having to think once more about tactics.

On top of that, the cover for the greenhouse is in dire need of some tender loving care. Having a plastic greenhouse has made me painfully aware of just how much wind we get. It ain’t good.

I’ve had to go out and prop the bamboo poles for the runner beans up, due to large gusts dislodging them.  The mulch round various plants has been blowing away. And the courgette which is outside is looking decidedly weather-beaten.

Overall, I have come to the conclusion that the curcubits are a dead loss this year. In other words, no Halloween pumpkin is likely either. But all is not lost, as the cucumbers seem to be producing something.

Sadly, I don’t have photos of any of the above. Instead, I’ve spent most of the day painting the stairway and landing, including the ceiling. And we’ve managed to get something to a charity shop. Yay!

Said charity shop also happened to have a wonderful haberdashery section, so no doubt another visit will be undertaken before too long. A good reason to declutter further, methinks.

 

Sue Ryder haberdashery section in Headingley


We also managed a bit of foraging at our local organic farm. A children’s favourite: blackberries. These have all been donated to neighbouring children as my daughter felt their need. Bless!

 

Swillington Organic Farm

 
On the way out of the farm I was taken with the cow I saw. It had wandered away from its field and seemed to be in a dried-up ditch by the side of the track. Others followed suit but they were more camera-shy 😉

 

cow having a wander

 
So, adventures have been had and progress has been made. But the garden is calling. I hope tomorrow will be the day. I’m longing for some outside time, apart from anything else….

large cherry tomato from one of my indoor plants

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Make do and mend and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My garden needs me!

  1. gaiainaction says:

    I know the feeling Helen! Hope tomorrow is your day for the garden 🙂

    • Helen says:

      The good thing (one of the good things I should say) is that overall there isn’t so much work. I think I got all planned jobs done in about an hour yesterday. Hopefully it will be about the same in the front garden today 🙂

  2. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day I hoping if my toe allowes me to have some garden time have a blessed week

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

