The greenhouse in August

As mentioned the other day, the blustery weather recently had torn my greenhouse. And not in the most convenient of places, either. Right down the front near the zip is hardly the ideal site, if there is one, to mend a rip in plastic. 

 

torn greenhouse cover

 
However, I’ve given it a go. And in the process I noticed something which is far more pleasing to the eye.

 

I don’t recall ever having a red tomato outside the house in August. The first year I tried tomatoes, I didn’t start them till July, so the plants grew very big and flowered. But it doesn’t take a genius to work out the they didn’t even produce a single green fruit.

Now, I hope the reddening beauties will be okay about me drying off onions on the shelf nearby. I decided to cut off their leaves while they were still green, as I think they are a useful extra in the kitchen.

  
I prefer them cooked rather than eaten as spring (green) onions in salad and so have blanched them to be frozen for later in the year. And the ones you can see in the bowl above are the leaves from just the two I picked today…….

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The greenhouse in August

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Sorry to hear that you lost your greenhouse Helen. Good though that you discovered your tomatoes ripening. Such a strange summer though! Love chives too, just cut them back but did not use them as they were messed up growing underneath the lady’s mantel. Better next time. πŸ™‚

    • Helen says:

      Fortunately, I haven’t lost the greenhouse – I think the repair will keep it going a bit longer πŸ™‚

      It has been a strange summer, though, hasn’t it?

      Last year was the first year for my chives and they were puny. This year they have grown thick and strong, flowering over and over again. I hope yours will do well next year.

      • gaiainaction says:

        I was actually wondering about the use of raw chives, mine do get slugs all over them, well they did until I took them off. But recently I read that slugs can harbour a parasite which might not be good for one’s health, would washing with salt take off this slug slime I wonder. Have you ever heard anything about this Helen?

        • Helen says:

          To be honest, I’m afraid I haven’t. I’m rather surprised that the slugs have been on your chives as I didn’t think they liked onions and garlic, so why not other plants from that family?

          As slugs could potentially be on any food you grow (or food anyone grows), I would have thought washing should work. Maybe this needs investigating further, though :-s

          • gaiainaction says:

            Not sure, and don’t want to overreact. Sure I often nibble on leaves straight from the garden. And my slugs are something else Helen, they would eat anything I think. Every night I catch quite a few of them and go to release them in a rough patch of land…..

          • Helen says:

            I think you are right about not overreacting. Still, something worth bearing in mind!

            Your slugs certainly do sound like something else….

  2. Sorry about the rip, same thing happened to our gazebo last year. Mmmm…tomatoes!

  3. Awesome about your toms sorry to hear about the rip in your greenhouse have a blessed ed week

  4. Jackie says:

    Well done with fixing the rip – mine have a few rips and manage ok. And great about the tomato. Hope there are more to come.

  5. I’m so happy to see your tomatoes! Hurray for you.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

