RHS one way or another

I learned just yesterday that the estate where I live has suddenly been added to the itinerary for the RHS Britain in Bloom competition. Oops! I wonder how they will take to my front garden, considering it’s not what could be described as ‘in bloom’ at the moment.

Oh well, even though I wouldn’t want to let my immediate community down, I don’t want to go against my principles which I hope are for the greater good, anyway. That said, I did pop out this morning and do some weeding round the edges. There is still grass from the original lawn coming through but it was really easy to pull up with the ground being so dry.

I was a bit concerned by what I found under one of the bricks at the edge, however. What on earth could these grubs be?

the mysterious and probably unwanted garden pest?

Anyway, it just so happens that I needed to have a day out. I mean ‘needed’ in the sense that I am not good at staying at home for too long. So off we went for an afternoon trip to RHS Harlow  Carr.
It’s a while since we paid the gardens a visit and I was green with envy at seeing the pumpkins there. How did they manage that when I haven’t got a single fruit on the vines?

Harlow Carr pumpkin patch

On the other hand, it was lovely to see a bit of wild flower with something else. In fact, I was quite tickled by the statue of a cat in between the yellow flowers. I’d say someone’s got a sense of humour there đŸ˜‰ 
  

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to RHS one way or another

  1. Love the cat! Too cute.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

