A lot of exercise!

Today was time to get my car serviced. I had banked on it being over within the hour, so that I could get on with the rest of the day in the garden. But the car had other plans…..

The garage said all things being equal it would be lunch time before I could pick it up, so it made sense to walk to a nearby village where there was an arts and crafts cafe I had been intending to visit for, oh, a few years.

The nearby village turned out to be a three and a half mile walk. It was worth it, though. I saw what looked like a permaculture garden en route, as well as lots of other potential walks in the future. And the cafe itself is somewhere I would definitely feel comfortable going to again and again.

 

Rivers Meet in Methley

 
Eventually, we were on our way home and after a long rest – seven miles isn’t my normal walk – it was down to business in the garden. Mostly dealing with compost, in fact.

Now that my daughter had agreed to let go of the box (very large box) sitting in our living room for two years, it was available to be used for the lasagne bed that has become the front lawn. So, down the cardboard went, which was then topped up with the finished compost that used to be where my potatoes were growing.

 

front garden 10 August 2015


Whilst emptying out the compost finishing off bin, I disturbed a toad. So perhaps that is why I have no slugs to speak of this year? Poor thing though, it seemed so frightened, it relieved itself when it saw me towering above.

I do hope it will have recovered from this nasty shock and decide to stay. I had thought about moving the bin to another part of the garden but I think it would be best to keep it where it is, in the case the toad fancies its bed back. I promise I won’t be disturbing you again for a while, my friend!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, Permaculture, Social, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A lot of exercise!

  1. jane says:

    love the sound of that cafe, must visit with you and want to see yr garden soon xx

  2. Lovely update thank Helen for sharing have a blessed day

  3. Jackie says:

    Glad you’ve found a good use for your daughter’s box. It did seem much loved.

  4. That’s quite the walk! Glad you found good things along the way.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

