The smell of orange in the morning

I had to throw one of my indoor pepper plants on the compost the other day because it was totally infested with aphids.

I had hoped that all the other pepper plants dotted about the house (four of them) would be spared. Unfortunately, the prize plant by the back foot, which has several fruit growing on it, has also succumbed, though so far I have been able to pick off the offending creatures.

Not wanting to chance anymore plant losses – and certainly wanting as many peppers as I can – I decide it was time to take an offensive position. Thus, I came across a recipe for citrus insecticide. 

This is very simple. Basically, it requires some orange peel which is steeped in warm water overnight. Except there were no instructions on whether the water was to remain warm, so it was actually orange peel in increasingly cold water in my case.

ornage peel being soaked to make anti-aphid spray

Whether or not this effort to combat aphids works remains to be seen. I did enjoy eating the orange itself, though, and the diningroom smelled lovely this morning!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The smell of orange in the morning

  1. drofmit4108 says:

    Not tried the citrus method…
    we use a weak solution of washing up liquid…
    a B&Q £1 sprayer and cover the top of the plant with a spray…
    and any other aphid infested corners of the plant.
    It also seems to stop the ants in their tracks.
    They probable have the same aversion to soapy honeydew…
    as I do to soapy beer.
    There is also “Death to Flea Beetles” to consider…
    three or four rhubarb leaves boiled up in water…
    left overnight to steep… bottle resultant brown liquid.
    Spray on aphids, flea beetle infested crops, etc.
    And if you use stainless steel pans, the steeping liquid…
    “cleans the pans summat lovely, me ducks!”…
    we make it whether we want it or not if we’ve been cooking beans from dry…
    it cleans the mess they leave on the pan bottom…
    and leaves very shiny steel!

  2. Can’t wait to find out if it works!

  3. Lovely update and thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  4. I bet your place smelled fab. Go get those aphids … little suckers. I’m all for the dish washing liquid or anything organic that works. 😀

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

