The power of the bokashi

At last, I have evidence that the bokashi bin was a good investment.

The photo below features a row of mangetout that I sowed sometime in late May. They have grown to the height of about two feet max.

  
The next row of mangetout were sown at least a couple of weeks later. I would say they measure about three feet tall.

  
There could be other factors to take into account. For example, the site of the taller row might get more rain or I may have watered more often because of other crops, such as cucumber, nearby. These crops may also have been good companions for the mangetout.

However, I am certain that the extra grown is down to the fact that they are in a hugel bed filled with bokashi mixture. Aside from the fertiliser, the bed should hold more water because of the brown matter I put in there. So, I’m looking forward to building my next bokashi hugel bed soon 🙂

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The power of the bokashi

  1. That’s terrific. It’s so nice when our efforts pay off.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I am so pleased. The soil in the garden is sorely in need of nutrients, and beauty of the bokashi is I don’t have to feel guilty about food waste, especially with a younger member of the household being a picky eater 😉

      • Oh I know all about picky eaters. It’s lovely to see food scraps get a second life.

        • Helen says:

          We do have a municipal food waste collection once a week but it seemed a shame not to benefit from my own waste in a more productive way. So, now I hope to get food from food 🙂

          • We do too, but like you, our scraps are diverted to a worm bin and two compost bins. I started with just one, then added a second, then a neighbor gave me the worm bin since it wasn’t being tended by its owner. I hope you enjoy the weekend ahead. Are you still on holiday?

          • Helen says:

            I would have liked a wormery but have nowhere suitable, hence the bokashi (which accepts a wider range of food types – ie everything).

            Thank you for your wishes regarding the weekend. Unfortunately, I’m back at work. It’s a busy time of year for us, so I could only get a week off. However, since I work just Tuesday to Thursday, it does feel like I am on holiday at the weekend!

            Anyway, I hope you are enjoying your weekend, Alys.

          • Helen, how nice that you have a shortened work week. That must be nice, though I know you work hard the hours you are on the job, and just as hard at home. I’m glad you had a week to yourself, more or less. When does school resume for your daughter?

            We used to return after Labor Day weekend here in early September. Now all the different schools, both public and private, are on different start times. My youngest son returns to high school on Monday. My oldest son starts college September 21st, over a month later.

          • Helen says:

            It’s great to have a shortened week. I worked full time till my daughter started school and it was far too much.

            This year, schools in our area have seven weeks’ holiday (usually it’s six over the summer), so she’ll go back during the second week of September. The system might change to being more like yours, though, which must cause havoc when planning family breaks?!

          • The original school holidays were planned around the harvest. Children were expected to work the farm along with family, so they took them out of school for that purpose. Now so many families have working parents in a different capacity, so planning for breaks and holidays when a youngster needs care can be problematic. There are also studies that show that children lose 30% of learning after a long break which supports the notion of year-round school, with shorter breaks in between (say winter, summer and fall). My younger son, now 15, volunteered for four weeks this summer at a youth camp. It’s been a great experience for him and broke up the long summer break, for us 11 weeks!

          • Helen says:

            Eleven weeks!

            Yes, shorter breaks would definitely be better in terms of learning. The children have three one-week breaks here which could be lengthened and then the summer shortened. Considering how awful British summers generally are AND how much daylight we have, they could still easily have four-six hours outside after school.

          • I forget about your longer, Northern

  2. Sorry about that. I hit enter before completing the thought. I was saying that I forget about the longer days you have living in the north. The schools here vary slightly, but generally speaking, we have a four-day weekend at Thanksgiving (in November), then a two week break over Christmas and New Years. Then one week in the winter, one in the spring and then summer. All told, they have almost 14 weeks off of school.

    • Helen says:

      We have 13 weeks normally. The reason for the extra this year is because of the way a public holiday at the end of August falls.

      Anyway, it is difficult for the children in winter to play outside because of lack of light. December is the worst, so in some ways it would make sense if Christmas/New Year was four weeks…. I have heard the question raised to save money for schools on heating and lighting!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

