Nettles have the biggest roots

Now the evenings are drawing in, I need to get out into the garden sharpish to get work done. As it was, after work I was upset and so work didn’t start till after eight.

There was still enough light left to clear out the old mangetout plants from the Jerusalem artichoke patch. And thus, I found a few hidden pods, which will keep us going till the pods appear on the newer plants.

 

artichokes after been cleared of mangetout plants

 
I’ve been eyeing up the latest cucumber for a few days. On the vine it looked longer than once cut. I didn’t want the reside mouse to take a nibble, though, so now it was dragging on the soil, off it came. It’s still the biggest cucumber I have grown so far.

 

how the cucumber compares to a kitchen knife

 
I was even more surprised by the size of the roots on the nettles by the rhubarb. No wonder nettles are good for you!

 

nettle plant after being dug up

 
I won’t be eating any of the leaves off this one, however. They must be bitter, they certainly look it. On the other hand, nettles are growing in one of the homemade growbags in the greenhouse, so I wonder if that is why there are (as yet) no aphids in there? Not that I have seen any ladybirds, which enjoy a good meal of nettles, apparently.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Nettles have the biggest roots

  1. I have never eaten an artichoke. It seems like a lot of work to cook. Call me lazy, but maybe they are worth it. Glad you are having luck with your cucumbers! That is a huge root! Those darn nettles!

    • Helen says:

      Jerusalem artichokes are just like potatoes (in terms of prep etc in the kitchen). I think you might mean globe artichokes, which I tried once and never again!

      As for the nettles, having braved them in cordial and soup earlier in the year, I’m going to pick the ones in the greenhouse for consumption at some point. The plant by the rhubarb could have led to stings, though, and it was running to seed. One or two nettles might be a good thing but I don’t want my garden overrun with them πŸ˜‰

  2. Lovely update Helen you could put the old nettles into water to make a nice tea for your plants if you do not want to compost it have a blesses day

  3. I decided against growing the Jerusalem artichoke .. They didn’t agree with me. Shame as they are so tasty. Aren’t ladybirds the best? πŸ˜ƒ

  4. malcomms says:

    I’ve recently been undergoing a transformation into a nettle lover. Did you know the roots and rhizomes are good for people suffering from a lack of testosterone? Amazing.

    Keep up your great posts, Helen.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

