Contrasting the seasons

Earlier this morning, the penny dropped with regard to pinning blog posts to Pinterest. So, whilst merrily getting on with that, I enjoyed looking through my WordPress files, taking a trip down memory lane and all that.

This brought me to a post from 7 March this year with a photo of the whole garden. You may recall that I recently discovered a photo from about the same time of year three years ago, where the garden looked decidedly empty. However, in early spring the garden wasn’t actually that much different this year either!

 

March 7 2015

 
In the long run, I hope there will be more to look at in winter than lots of brown. And I don’t mean lots of white. In the meantime, no matter how un-summery this summer has been, I am more than happy to have the current view from my bedroom.

 

August 21 2015

 
Growing at the moment (ie a definite crop – or almost in some cases): tomatoes, cucumber, mangetout, Jerusalem artichokes, red cabbage, kale, cauliflowers, rhubarb, sweet peppers, various herbs, blueberries, strawberries, apples, crab apples, nasturtiums, marigolds, runner beans, onions, beetroot and Chinese cabbage. Of course, there will be something I’ve missed off the list but that is quite a pleasing assortment of produce.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Contrasting the seasons

  1. streepie says:

    That is a great view of your garden – and a good harvest. We had a real summer here, and as a result, the lettuce bolted, the peas did not want to germinate, and the stem cabbage (kohlrabi) is most likely woody.

    The tomatoes and runner beans love the weather, though, and we have a decent crop of marrows.

    I am planning to plant some lamb’s lettuce, winter lettuce and curly kale in time for winter – let’s see what survives πŸ˜‰

    • Helen says:

      Good luck with your autumn planting, Connie. Whatever the weather, it suits something but not everything!

      I’m glad you like the view of the garden.

  2. TheDigger says:

    A few months makes a world of difference! Dinner at your place then? πŸ˜‰

  3. Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  4. A wonderful view of your garden .. Bet you are proud! I would be πŸ˜ƒ

  5. That is a view sure to bring a smile to anyone’s face.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

