No more water worries?

Last night, I came home to a greenhouse that was on its last legs. We were in the middle of a thunderstorm and the water had started to pool in the roof. The weight of this had then snapped the weakened joints (due to high winds earlier in the year) where the sides met the roof.

This morning, I had once last go at salvaging the greenhouse,  putting masking tape over the joints to hold them up….

 

final attempt to mend the greenhouse

 
but alas while we were out this afternoon the wind started up again and I came home to a cover-less greenhouse.

 

the second greenhouse cover ripped by the wind

 
However, we are now in the middle of another thunderstorm and this time the rain will be watering my parched greenhouse plants a treat. Of course, we won’t be getting heavy downpours every day, I hope. But all things being equal, the plants probably won’t dry out quite so rapidly now, either.

As for the plants that were outside, anyway, the courgette has gone from having no discernible fruit on Friday morning to two of a reasonable size yesterday evening (Saturday). A female pumpkin flower also opened this morning, so I was out there with my paintbrush to help nature along.

 

my first home-grown courgette

 
So, all in all, things appear to be looking up😊.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Make do and mend and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to No more water worries?

  1. Watch those courgettes – they’ll be marrows by Monday! 😉

  2. Sorry to hear about your greenhouse, what a shame!

    • Helen says:

      Yes, a shame it is. But at least it cost me nothing – the company refunded me the money when the joints broke originally.

      It would have been great to have had more red tomatoes direct from the plant than I will probably now get…. But I am used to doing stuff with green ones and am quite looking forward to making more green tomato jam after discovering it last year 🙂

  3. Jackie says:

    Sorry to hear another greenhouse woe. I’m sure you’ll get some great produce anyway.

  4. gaiainaction says:

    Oh dear, sad your greenhouse went Helen. Hope you can restore it sometime with new plastic.

  5. Sorry about your greenhouse. 😦

  6. lovely update but shame about the green house and hope you get a great harvest still have a blessing of a day

  7. Enjoy that courgette .. 😊

  8. What a shame about your green house! It must be heart breaking.
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      Well, actually no 🙂

      It would have been nice to have had it till the end of the season but I could see the end coming. Ie I knew it was only a matter of weeks at best before this happened.

      The pepper that has been doing well is the only thing that might now stop producing. However, there is one pepper that is well underway on that particular vine and I don’t think it was that warm most of the time in the greenhouse. So, who knows…

  9. Glad for the courgettes, sad for the greenhouse. But you appear to be taking it all in stride, Helen.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

