This year’s tomatoes

I had it in my head that I didn’t have many tomato plants this year. But then I took a photo of them all and I’ve actually got eight, though I’m only going to show you seven of them, as one is rather mangy.

  
Exhibit No. 1 used to live in the greenhouse but after the demise of the latter I thought it best to move it to less cramped conditions, where air could circulate more easily round it. Unfortunately, one of the branches broke off in transition. It was laden with tomatoes which will now be taken inside to ripen off, so not the end of the world but I’m still a bit dismayed.

  
Exhibit No. 2 seems to be producing bigger fruit, although I swear the seeds come from the same packet. Fortunately, none of its branches got broken in the transition to the patio.

  
Exhibit No. 3 must have loved its homemade grow bag as it does not want for stems and leaves. It took some time to work out it was supposed to also grow flowers. And then the budding beef tomatoes bottoms decided to turn a funny colour, so the adage ‘big is beautiful’ does not seem to apply here.

It will however be getting a haircut soon, so the roots get as much light and warmth to them as possible.

  
Exhibit No. 4 is growing in the soil rather than a grow bag. No doubt this has had an impact on its size and level of production. At the same time, all the tomatoes on it look fine – but which variety are they?

  
Exhibit No. 5 is probably the same variety as No. 4. It too has under-performed in the soil. It’s very dry and a bit shady in that part of the garden, so that’s one reason for turning it into a Forest Garden, amongst others.

  
Hidden behind the fence, who’d have thought that Exhibit No. 6 would be so laden with fruit? But these cherry tomatoes seem to be little goers.

  
Finally, Exhibit No. 7 is getting its second wind. I’ve never experienced this before, where a tomato plant crops, then sends out new shots and starts all over again. Once these tomatoes decide to ripen they go from light green to dark red in a matter of days.

So, that brings me to the end of the tour. Time for lunch, which is sadly going to be tomato-less today.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to This year’s tomatoes

  1. Awesome post Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. streepie says:

    You have very healthy looking tomato plants!

    Thanks for the tour, and enjoy your tomatoes.

    Best
    Cornelia

  3. mybrightlife says:

    You seem to be having so much fun in your garden this summer!

  4. Hurrah for home-grown, garden-fresh tomatoes and hurrah for you. I hope you can have some with your supper.

  5. I have tomato envy .. .which is totally understandable given mine died last season because of blight!

  6. Looks like you will never be short of tomatoes! Nothing better than a ripe tomato picked straight from the vine!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

