Cauliflowers in their cage

Last year, just about all my cauliflowers got nibbled by something or simply perished. This year, on the other hand, I made sure I started them off early and put them in the ground when they were already robust seedlings.

In part of the bed, I made a trench, which I filled with wood and manure. And guess which of the cauliflowers have really taken off?

 

The two in the photo above have got so big the net cloche protecting them from the cabbage whites will have to come off. Going on the luck I’ve had with the cabbages being seemingly protected by buckwheat and/or nasturtiums, I hope the cauliflowers will be okay. In any case, I think they should be strong enough to withstand any unwanted interest…..

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cauliflowers in their cage

  1. Congrats on the success thus far. We had limited success in growing cauliflower the last two seasons. That is why we didn’t plant any this year. We were plagued by catapillars.

    I recently watched a gardening show in which they tied the leaves around the cauliflower. They said it protected the cauliflower and kept it from yellowing. If you did that It might allow you to keep it in the Kloche longer. I will be watching your site to get any tips I can from you.
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      Well, thank you, Honey.

      I don’t think the flower will have started to appear but I haven’t investigated yet. I’ll be really pleased if they have – and then there will no doubt be a post about that 😊.

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing Helen I getting happy about to plant out some spinach and chard have a blessed day

  3. Good job! Love that mini cloche! Damned white butterflies

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

