I thought they were peppers

Earlier in the year, I started off a number of different vegetables. Some labelled rather haphazardly but I worked out in the end what I was growing, I thought. So, to my delight there seemed to be a large number of pepper plants. But no aubergines.

Now, I think that has all changed.

they must be aubergines

Last year, I grew two aubergine plants which formed fruit. The flowers were purple. This year, what foxed me was that the flowers were white. Same packet, however. 

Now, is it because the aubergine plant has been growing next to peppers that the flowers are white. Or did the packet contain different varieties of aubergine?

Probably neither. But whatever the cause, these ‘peppers’ are turning an interesting shade of purple. So, I might be making ratatouille and aubergine curry, yet. Bliss! 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I thought they were peppers

  1. Jackie says:

    I have a few like this. they’re tiny but they taste good.

  2. jane says:

    excellent xx

  3. Make lots of ratatouille and freeze it for the winter!!

  4. Hi Helen, my eggplants didn’t get cracking until the end of the season too! Now that curry sounds like a perfect idea ..

  5. drofmit4108 says:

    They are peppers… or, even, chillis…
    a lot start purple like this…
    they look a lot like Poblano…
    great in stews… give a rich, smokey taste.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I had a good feel of them after posting and was saddened to find they are in fact peppers. Not chillies though, as I haven’t sown any this year. The pepper seed packet showed that they can be all sorts of colours but what surprises me is that all the ones on this plant are purple when on another plant they are all turning red.

  6. I love when we get little surprises in the garden but sorry you were hoping they were eggplant. I wonder how they taste.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

