The wasp and the pumpkin

I was feeling a bit sleepy this morning and so was on the verge of going back to bed when I thought of having a quick walk round the garden. 

Yesterday, I had noted that there was a female pumpkin flower open. I also realised that the male flowers would probably come out after this had closed. And true to form, that is exactly what I saw this morning.

Or rather, what I saw was two open, male flowers, with a wasp rolling round inside one of them. Unfortunately, I didn’t have my phone with me so rushed inside to fetch it and lucky the wasp was just crawling out of the stamen area when I arrived back at the scene.

wasp laiden with pollen

I had a go at transferring the remaining pollen to the now closed female flower (or the carpel in the closed flower, I should say), in any case. However, I don’t mind if there is no resultant pumpkin because it was such a pleasure to see the wasp. And I never thought I’d say that 😉.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The wasp and the pumpkin

  1. Over here the bumble bees adore pumpkin flowers .. you would love seeing them rolling around inside. Isn’t nature brilliant 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

