The last day in August 2015

If memory serves me correctly, this time last year I wrote a similarly titled post about the garden on the approach to autumn. The main difference, apart from more wrinkles (me) and being an inch taller (my daughter), is that instead of being cold it is raining. As I love rain, this seems a fair trade-off๐Ÿ˜‰.

Especially when you step out the back door and are confronted by the following:

rhubarb surge

Yesterday, I noticed a few new buds on the rhubarb. But today I have definitely got one or two final meals out of it. I know I have to stop picking soon, so that the plant can feed itself before winter, but as it has shown itself to be stronger in this new position behind a fence (rather than near the apple tree), I will take a stick or two more before letting it rest.

Talking of the apple tree, here is the latest view of this area of the garden. Two of the dwarf French bean seeds have grown into plants and they are quite prolific. In other words, I will definitely find space for them again next year.

round the apple tree

The heather is also coming on, after nearly dying in a pot two years ago. This year, not only does it have some foliage but there are pretty pink flowers, too. I hope now it will survive the transfer to the front garden, where I think it will be better served.

Since it started raining on a regular basis at the start of August, the carrots have come on a treat. They will be lifted at the end of the week to make way for a new hugel bed. On the other hand, the runner beans, which are also thankful for the rain, can stay at least a month more.

 

I expect these carrots to be a decent size

  

runner beans picking up speed

 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The last day in August 2015

  1. Dan says:

    Your garden looks delightful!

  2. Wild Chat says:

    Rhubarb was pretty poor iin our garden for some reason this year. Yours is looking pretty good though ๐Ÿ™‚

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

