Harvest Festival

This year, the way the summer holidays have fallen, my daughter was able to attend a harvest festival event at Skelton Grange Conservation Centre with me. And while she baked bread

hand-made bread

I had a wander round the vegetable patch behind the main education building. I don’t know exactly what vegetable the two-tone below is, but is it interesting or what?

marrow or pumpkin?

At home, it also felt like harvest festival. I would like to build another hugel bed tomorrow, so in preparation I took out the onions and carrots in the appointed patch. And unlike in the early summer, I wasn’t disappointed with the size of the latter!

round carrots

The strawberries are still on the go

strawberry begging to be eaten

and the crab apples are ripening.

 

beautiful crab apples


 
I recently read that this variety of crab apple, John Downie, are sweet enough to eat raw. This is a very pleasing thought, though even if they weren’t – or aren’t – I am happy for them to grace my garden in such a pretty manner. Then, in the long run it would be great to have enough for crab apple jelly. Something to look forward to, one way or another.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Harvest Festival

  1. I love the bread design. Did it bake up nice? I don’t know what the 2 toned veggie is but it’s a cheery addition in the garden. Is it normal to still have strawberries now?

    • Helen says:

      The bread was mostly crust but for a first attempt at bread-making I

      • Helen says:

        would say it was very good!

        It is perhaps a little unusual to have strawberries now – I think it has something to do with this particular variety. That said, the other type I have are going into flower again. This is the first year I’ve had them, though, so I wouldn’t know if it’s normal for them as well.

  2. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing and have a blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

