When things go according to plan!

Yesterday, I needed to collect a prescription for the psoriasis on the palms of my hands. Should have been a straightforward case of taking it to the chemist and then the tedious wait for the creams to be handed over.

Well, fortunately, there was no wait – yesterday – because the chemist didn’t have what I needed. What?!

So, instead, I got to wait today…. Hardly, things going to plan, you might say.

Ah but the reason for any concern was that once there is any deviation from my plans, usually that signals the slow dive into not getting anything done at all. And this did not happen today, which means:

Hugel bed number two got built.

second hugel bed – seems much taller than the first, so the contents must reduce quite quickly

This is now the potential home for a last attempt at radishes and lettuce. I also threw in some out-of-date corn salad for good measure. It might work, why not.

Before I could dig the trench for the latest batch of wood and bokashi mix, I needed to clear the ground. Of weeds, yes, but also a good number of silver birch seedlings, self-sown from next door’s trees. I’ve kept the best of them and will be potting them up with the aim of planting them somewhere in the countryside.

silver birch seedlings and a stray strawberry runner amongst the weeds

After all, we need more trees – I just don’t have enough room in my garden for twenty plus 30 foot high trees!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When things go according to plan!

  1. gaiainaction says:

    How cool Helen, Hugel culture is an interesting project. I have in my plans to try out in the next few years all going well. I will be following how you get on with it.
    By the way, I almost totally cleared psoriasis and you know what cleared it (apart from using homeopathy) when my husband and I divorced – not sure what to think about that.

    • Helen says:

      Well, I guess you have less stress now! Great news, anyway, re your psoriasis.

      I basically need to start looking after myself better. That includes being kind to myself, and getting to bed earlier (as I have tonight – reading blogs before getting some sleep instead of wasting time on stuff that winds me up!)

      As for hugelkultur, I would definitely recommend it, going on my experience so far. The things I sowed today won’t benefit, I don’t think, from the goodness under the soil, being shallow-rooted, but I plan to plant cucumbers and courgette in this new bed next year.

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

