Small surprises

Last night, too late to take a picture, I noticed something in the undergrowth.

hidden cucumber

I had naively planted two cucumber plants in the spot where the blackberry bush used to be. Then, inspite of repeated attempts to pull up bits of new bramble growth, they became smothered, so I assumed that was the end of my cucumber dreams from those quarters.

Clearly, at least one of the plants is made of sterner stuff. My daughter isn’t quite so impressed, though. She thinks the cucumber looks creepy. Hope she doesn’t think the same at teatime!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Small surprises

  1. Awesome news Helen looks lovely to me and I am sure it will be lovely to eat as well have a blessesd day

  2. Don’t you just love getting unexpected gifts like that? It looks healthy too!

  3. I love those kind of surprises.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

