They’re chilli peppers!

I’ve been looking at one of my pepper plants for a while now, wondering why the fruit refused to grow. The plant has been nibbled by aphids – the lemon peel insecticide didn’t work and I kept picking the aphids off instead – so I did consider the possibility that this was the cause.

chillli peppers of some description

Then I picked some of the peppers and put them in a salad. I wouldn’t say they were particularly hot but there was a definite kick that you don’t get with sweet peppers. 

So, I’m wondering if they are cayenne peppers, as these are the only ones I sowed (but thought they had all died as seedlings), apart from the sweet variety. Or the packet of seeds I bought had the wrong label on it.

Either way, I now wonder what the other, as yet untested, plants will yield. And I am pleased to have this pleasant surprise.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to They’re chilli peppers!

  1. Ours are just turning red too! So exciting!

  2. lovely update Helen I believe all peppers turn red in the end even if they are green to start with I picked some of mind and left them in the green house and they started to turn red I have open frozen my first batch then I might make a wreath with the next batch

  3. Jackie says:

    Those look suspiciously like the holes made by vine weevils which have been plaguing me. Or maybe slugs? Either way, well done for getting something off the plants against this invasion.

  4. gaiainaction says:

    Well I am curious to see how you get on with this Helen.

  5. Chillies take forever .. I always found cayenne on the hot side. Damned aphids ..

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

