Homegrown poppy seeds

collecting the seeds

Poppies are one of my favourite flowers but, until this year, I had not been able to get any to grow in my garden. First, there was the possible Icelandic Poppy, which had self-seeded and hopefully will have done so again. 
  
Then came the red ones I sowed myself. And it is these I am now collecting the seed from to put in my loaves of bread.

  
Poppies themselves are usually poisonous, I understand, but their seeds are not. So, here is yet another plant with a dual purpose. The flowers may not last very long but they give a gift which I will enjoy when the nights are cold and dark.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Homegrown poppy seeds

  1. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing and have a blessed day

  2. They are so pretty. Poppy seeds on bagels, so good! I have never saved seeds from ours, I wonder if it’s too late.

  3. drofmit4108 says:

    The yellow poppy is the Welsh Poppy [Meconopsis cambria]…
    a British native and related to the wonderful blue Mecanopsis that is too difficult to grow from seed…
    but why, I know not…
    the yellow one is endemic in Leeds!!
    The seed of these are like dust…
    totally different to your red one.
    The poppy to grow for culinary seed is the Opium Poppy [Papaver somniferum]…
    but you need to gather the seed heads before they open and dry them indoors, head down, in a paper bag.

    Pauline grew one here last year called the “Bread-seed Poppy”…
    same species as the Opium Poppy, but the seed heads don’t open by themselves…
    you have to break them when dry.
    Either would be very good in your front garden….
    the plants are large, lots of flowers and huge decorative seedpods…
    but the main reason I suggest the front garden is….
    should you miss a seed-head in your harvesting….
    they will be there for evermore!!
    Our predecessor at Burley Model had obviously grown some…………….

    Another to grow is the Oriental Poppy [P. orientale]….
    smaller seedpods than P. somniferum… but a denser, softer foliage…
    but the same huge flowers…
    which come in amazing colours…
    also some are double-petalled…

    The red one you have in the garden is the Long-headed Poppy P. dubium
    again native…
    the Welsh Poppy is a perennial by the way!

    • Helen says:

      Interesting information. I tried the poppies in the front garden but I think it was too dry and maybe a bit too shady. Next year, I will try them nearer the front.

      Good to know the Welsh poppy is perennial.

      • drofmit4108 says:

        Good to know the Welsh poppy is perennial.“…
        yes, it is a really cheery flower…
        shines like the sun on a dull day!!

        Get the blue Mecanopsis… Himalayan Poppy…. growing with it….
        put a white flower with them…
        you’ll have a Leeds supporters corner!!! 😉

  4. Each and every year my poppies appear .. always where I don’t want them to be. 😀

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

