The heat is on!

Only a few days ago, my compost heap was jammed to the rafters. Then I took out a bit of almost finished compost at the bottom – the bit at the front which was accessible – but the rest will have to stay until I have a place to move the bin to, so that I can turn the whole lot.

In the meantime, instead of turning the contents in their entirety, I did a partial turn: hands in and the top layers got mixed up.

compost bin 19 September 2015

My word! The heat in the compost bin this morning was incredible. And the size of the heap had more than halved. No doubt the bin itself has something to do with it, but I am also in no doubt that the bokashi mix that went in at the beginning of the month is a reason, too.

And now I will definitely have room for the plants coming to the end of their life this growing season. There is, however, still some producing left to do, especially as the weather is so warm and sunny right now.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The heat is on!

  1. Fresh compost is the best. What’s the white stuff on top?

  2. Awesome post and thank you for sharing hand have a blessed day Helen

  3. gaiainaction says:

    It is great that your compost is so hot, that is a real good sign isn’t it. My compost does not get hot ever, so something that I need to look at. High winds and heavy rain all day 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Oh no! I hope it’s not coming my way lol.

      As for the compost bin, I noticed the heat a bit the first time I put bokashi mix in but this time the overall reaction was incredible 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

