Daffodils in the front garden

At the beginning of the year, my parents gave me a couple of pots of mini daffodils. The bulbs were crammed into the pots and clearly would not have enjoyed a second year in such conditions. At the same time, I didn’t want to dedicate anymore of the back garden to flowers which did not serve a dual purpose (eg be something I could eat as well as admire).

In truth, I did find a ready-made hole (because of the washing line pole) near the cauliflowers, into which I popped one of the bulbs. The rest, however, have gone into the front garden.

 

front garden 21 September 2015


 
There is still plenty of grass to be killed off underneath the current greenery, which is a mixture of green manure, marigolds and Swiss chard (on the whole). There are also bits of cardboard dotted about, waiting for compost to be popped on top. But as the daffs won’t be appearing till next spring, I’m sure a bit of cardboard and compost will do them no harm!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Daffodils in the front garden

  1. atkokosplace says:

    I love daffodils. I can’t wait until mine come through…Always signals spring! Your front garden is so green! Things are dying off here. I still have my herbs and a few other veggies. Have a lovely evening. Koko❀

  2. That’s a pretty garden, Helen.

  3. Elle says:

    As you know I amn’t much in the garden (yet!!), but as kids we used to plant daffodils in school every year. I remember not only the joy of getting mucky, but that feeling of knowing that spring would come and present it’s wear. 🙂

  4. drofmit4108 says:

    Tete-a-tete daffies were planted by someone on the land between the tracks as you leave Leeds for Dewsbury or Wakefield….
    they have “naturalised” there and now hundreds give a wonderful Spring display each year!!

    Also, another plant for your front garden… gladioli… the petals are edible… taste a bit like lettuce.
    Don’t use the whole flower as you would with nasturtiums… just the petals… the rest of the flower, whilst edible, is bitter.
    But think of the colours!! And I bet your neighbours would approve! 😉

    • Helen says:

      I didn’t know gladioli were edible in any way.

      I’m trying as far as possible to move to a no-dig gardening system and gladioli need to be taken up in winter, so I gave mine away to a colleague.

      • drofmit4108 says:

        In Leeds area, you do not need to dig up Gladys….
        just mulch her over if the weather is destined to be very cold…
        or put some cardboard over at an angle if heavy rain is forecast….
        if put up against the house wall, you would hardly have to do either!#
        Go and ask for them back!! 😉

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

