Brassica bed

Over the last few days, I’ve been clearing a section of garden of blackberry regrowth and roots. I was a little optimistic last autumn, when I took the blackberry bush out of its original location without taking up all the roots. However, I now know….

I have a feeling this will be an ongoing battle but I doubt that the cauliflower and kale I have planted in its place are going to be troubled over the winter.

final three plants going in

Aside from the three plants I put in the ground this afternoon, the others are all of different sizes, due to being planted as and when space became available. The largest of the cauliflowers might just start to develop their flower before the cold sets in – I keep taking a peek, but nothing so far.

In any case, I’m really pleased that the kale is already bigger than the one plant that survived last winter. When I used to get vegetable boxes, the late winter ones were full of the stuff and I can’t say I liked it. I think eaten straight from the garden will be an entirely different matter, though.

Last but not least, I still have a number of cabbages to eat. These have grown splendidly over the summer and the crowns are so sweet. I have a feeling they need to be taken out of the ground before the thick of winter, but then again I could be wrong!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Brassica bed

  1. drofmit4108 says:

    Helen, don’t let the remains of the blackberry get above 3″ in size,…
    cut them off just below ground level…
    that way it will use all the food it has stored in the roots without the chance of making more…
    you will need to do it regularly… even over winter…
    and do not be fooled by a long period of non-appearance, it is just having you on!
    A weekly check and cut each week for a year usually does the trick!
    Bonne chance!

    And you can fleece the cabbages…
    a double layer is OK for the heaviest of Leeds frosts on the open allotment…
    so, unless you are in a frost hollow, you are better off as you are much more sheltered.

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  3. I wish I had enough space to just make a bed for brassicas. Best of luck to you!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

