Drying

I’ve been collecting coriander seed for a couple of years now, although this year there are not many of them. I do, however, have another ‘plant’ on the go, so there could more to come…..

 

fennel seed, coriander seed and chillies


 
Fennel seeds, on the other hand, are more or less a new crop for me. I may have collected the seed when I got the fennel (herb) in what now seems like the dim and distance past. Let’s say about five years ago. But between then and now the fennel has fared poorly.

The difference I think is that the fennel prefers being in the ground rather than a pot. For that matter, so does coriander, so I hope to have more next year when I establish a herb garden, where the Wendy house currently stands.

Anyway, in contrast to the coriander, I have a rather large amount of fennel seeds. And I have decided to dry some chillies, rather than eat them all now. The fennel seeds can go in the airing cupboard but I am using the bread maker to dry the chillies.

I did the same with an onion to make onion salt: each time I made a batch of bread, I put the onion in the machine after taking the loaf out. It took at least a week to dry it sufficiently to grind up with the salt but it meant no extra equipment (ie a dehydrator) in my tiny kitchen. And it looks like the chillies will do just as well!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Drying

  1. lovely update I never tried to dry any of my seeds before Helen so the warmth of your bread maker helps you dry your seed ?have a blessed day

  2. I’ve never heard of using a bread maker for drying. Good to know. My mom drinks fennel seed tea all the time.

    • Helen says:

      I discovered the bread maker method by experimentation. I don’t think it is an official thing – and I only use it when the bread maker has been switched off after baking a loaf. That is, the machine is not actively heating the chillies etc, as that would cook rather than dehydrate them.

      Anyway, great that your mom drinks fennel seed tea. I still have fennel tea from last year to use up (see how often I drink herb tea!) but I might try a cup with the seeds for comparison.

  3. Fennel seed is used in Italian sausages. I put them in my tomato sauce over pasta. You can chew on them for fresh breath. They have nutritional value too. I grew coriander in my vegetable garden this year rather than in a pot which I did last year. I had luck both ways. They went to seed in my garden and went totally nuts with seed! I didn’t want my garden filled with coriander next year so I pulled up the plant. I doubt that I got it all but that’s OK. I do like cilantro in my mango chutney which I put over my baked salmon. I might write a post about it because it’s really good.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

