The chilli muncher?

The other day, when I took the ripened chilli peppers off the vine by my back door to dry them, there was one unripened. So, I left it and sure enough it quickly turned red.

But it also had a big part missing. Something got there before me!

  
I was a bit surprised that aphids could devour a fruit so quickly. And once I took the plant out of its pot, it was clear that there was something else that liked this plant.

  

Now, my hunch was that this little horror is a vine weevil larva. However, is it not the wrong colour? And if it is not one of the aforementioned, I am really baffled as to what it is instead. I’ve done an Internet search and the result is, well, I still don’t know.

Not to worry. The compost from the chilli pot has gone to landfill and there is now a chilli plant from outside to replace the finished plant. That is a definite advantage of growing things in pots: being able to shift plants round at ease.

  
Anyway, hopefully, these chillies (or ordinary peppers?) can now ripen in the relative warmth of my dining room.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The chilli muncher?

  1. hmm – no that’s not aphids. Doesn’t look like vine weevil either but it’s pretty voracious whatever it is. Good luck with the replacement plant

  2. drofmit4108 says:

    Helen, the “muncher” is a caterpillar of the Angle-Shades moth….
    attractive moth… but not a gardeners’ friend!!

    • Helen says:

      Thank you. What does this moth do? Apart from presumably eat chillies!

      • drofmit4108 says:

        What most moths do… feed rodents and bats!
        It is always the caterpillars that are the problem…
        Pauline has been catching the moth larvae….
        that have been eating our chillies…….
        not Angle Shades, tho’…
        and feeding them to the chickens!!
        In the right place, the moths and their caterpillars are attractive…
        in their ‘right’ place…
        they’re destructive!!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

