Nearly a pound of crab apples

The crab apples had started to drop and I didn’t want them to spoil before they could be eaten. So this morning I took the beautiful fruit off the tree.

  
They weigh in at about three quarters of a pound, which is a good amount for year one by my reckoning. I don’t think there is enough to make any jelly but my daughter wolfed back a few bowls of them stewed with regular apples the other night. So, I think that is the way they are going to go this year….

I’ve also been picking the biggest of the green tomatoes. The ones which are ripening I’ve left for now – ideally, they will be eaten straight from the vine. I’ve also left the smaller green ones in the hope they will get a bit more size on them.

I haven’t weighed this picking, although I know already it is smaller than in previous years. Having got used to an abundance of green tomatoes, and few red ones, I’ve also got used to jars and jars of chutney. However, I am sure in time I could get used to more eaten in summer salads 😉

the crab apple tree post picking

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Nearly a pound of crab apples

  1. Two thinks I’ve discovered: crab apples make great chutney and green tomatoes make great marmalade, if you’re looking for a change. Those look lovely though.

  2. Oohh… well done! Our crab apples have come and gone already without me finding the time to harvest and cook them. First time we’d had them as well as we only planted the tree last year… ah well, there’s always next year (I hope!)

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

