Hot feet

I can’t remember when I sowed radish seeds, except that one lot were a few weeks before the next. So you would have thought the ones which had been growing longer would be bigger, right?

Well, this is not the case. The ones planted first – in soil which has not been amended since I turned the lawn into a vegetable patch – look like this:

 

The ones planted later but in a hugel bed look like this:

 
Now, the organic slug pellets have no doubt helped. The net covering over them might have some bearing on the situation, too. However, I feel that the bokashi mix in the hugel bed, which must be producing heat if it is anything like the same in the compost bin, could be another contributing factor.

In other words, I wonder if the hugel bed isn’t acting as an incubator, which could account for why the cucumber and courgettes are still going strong. For that matter, I swear that a sweetcorn cob has gone from barely there to something which might soon be on the plate in the last week.

Should that happen, I will let you know. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot feet

  1. Good luck with the corn!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

