Lemon balm?

After taking in the biggest pumpkin the other day, I decided its little cousin needed to be in as well.

  
Then I pulled the plants up and put them in the compost heap. But what was this? Another pumpkin plant and one which I hadn’t planted?

 

seed must have germinated after I planted a plant from the same pot

 
I’ve left that in the ground for now – I admire its spirit but I doubt very much that the flowers are going to turn into pumpkins this late in the day. (That said, the courgette plant has just had a growth spurt and there are several more fruit on the way there.) Still, I am ever curious.

Anyway, once I had cleared the ground of pumpkin plants, I started to clear it of less intended guests…. Then I pulled something up that smelled quite positively of lemon.

   
 
I have a feeling it might be lemon balm, in which case it would be useful to keep for the planned herb garden. So, I’m sad it has been pulled up but glad my mysterious new garden acquisition has arrived.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lemon balm?

  1. Lovely post thank you for sharing Helen sunny here today have a blessed weekend

  2. Elle says:

    Pumpkins, how wonderful. And one trying to grow all on its own. I’m cheerleading it now!! Wouldn’t it be something else if it didn’t manage to sprout this late in the game.

  3. streepie says:

    The plant you pulled up looks very much like lemon balm to me. Just plant it in a big pot, give it lots of sun and water, and it will be happy 😉

  4. Lemmon balm is prolific .. It is in the mint family. If you poke it in the ground, water and TLC it will take off. Watch it though, it will turn up everywhere. Makes yummy tea too. I had exactly the same with a pumpkin growing in the compost. We got 4 from it which are still ripening indoors 😃

  5. your pumkins look great. I have lemond balm in a clay pot. I use it in tea with mint and chamomille for tea. Mint and lemon balm are good for digestive problems.
    Honey

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

