Not one but two!

I was surprised enough to discover that a sweetcorn cob was starting to develop at the end of September. So, imagine my surprise today when I noticed a sister was forming!

  
I’m intrigued to see how these grow. Yesterday, in Lincolnshire (south of where I live) there were fields full of sweetcorn, so it is clearly not unusual for it to be unpicked at this time of the year.

Anyway, whether I end up with one, two or none, it is good to have the greenery in the garden. Long may it last.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Not one but two!

  1. The corn stalk looks thick and sturdy. I will hold my thumb that it has enough time to mature. Fresh corn on the cob fresh off the stalk is amazingly good. Congrats!
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Honey!

      I probably could have had more but forgot how sweetcorn grew, so pulled up some prematurely.

      • You sound like me with the celery last year. Gardening is a learning curve. This year it was my cantelope that almost succeeded but unfortunately failed. I will dream all winter what they would have tasted like and next year we will try to grow them again. I can only dream of succeeding next year.
        Honey

  2. gaiainaction says:

    That’s real nice Helen, amazing too how our gardens, our plants can excite us. πŸ™‚

  3. Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day my toms have been best for me

  4. I bet it will be sweet!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

