Preparing the winter garden

It was a sad moment when I took out one of the tomato plants this afternoon. But it had to done in order to make way for the compost bin.

The bin is too heavy to lift with its contents still inside, so these had to come out first. A bit of a messy job but it certainly meant I worked up an appetite for lunch!

I refrained from having any of the tomatoes – well, most of them are still green, anyway – but it’s quite a large crop from a small plant.

  

Now, I’ve got a patch of spare ground where I plan to plant the garlic bulbils from this year’s garlic crop. It’s the first time I’ve had umbels on my garlic, so I’m excited to see if in three years’ time I will get a crop from the bulbils.

  
Anyway, the compost bin is nicely ensconced in its new position – maybe not the best in terms of benefitting from the winter sun but at least it will be sheltered.

  

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Preparing the winter garden

  1. The tomatoes will ripen if you just leave them in a bowl for a week or so – they look good even in their unripe state. Nice compost bin

    • Helen says:

      I got the compost bin from Old Sleningford Farm, where I volunteer once a month. It’s really great for making compost, you don’t really have to turn it, though I still think it helps.

      Taking of tomatoes, I had the first ripened beef variety yesterday and it was delicious. The largest I picked is steadfastly not turning red but it will be great when it does šŸ™‚

  2. Anne Wheaton says:

    You could also put a banana in the bowl with the tomatoes to help them ripen. Or you could use them in a salsa. I pulled the outdoor tomatoes at the weekend as they were diseased – makes me realise summer is well and truly over.

    • Helen says:

      Shame that your tomato plants were diseased.

      Yes, I have my tomatoes in a bowl with a banana but the beef variety are so big, it must take them an age unless the are already ripening, like the one I had on Sunday. They are worth the wait, though!

      Thanks for the salsa suggestion, by the way šŸ™‚

  3. Awesome update Helen thank for sharing have a blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

