Nasturtiums for tea

Earlier in the year, I bought bikes for my daughter and I. Since then, they have lived in our sitting room due to lack of space outside. That is not the long term intention, however.

This is the outdoor space I am planning for them:

  
This space had largely been divested of the nasturtium plants that had self-seeded here before the photo. I’ve got a bit more work to do before the flagstones can go down but I got somewhat sidetracked by other household matters today.

One of these was removing the leaves and flowers from the nasturtiums I had taken up.

  
Now, I have already eaten nasturtiums – and survived. I did, however, wonder what the nutritional value of these plants might be. So, an Internet search was in order.

On my phone, searches generally do not throw up particularly authoritative sites, but from what I can glean, nasturtium are good for coughs and colds, no doubt at least in part because of their high Vitamin C content. On the other hand, according to WebMD there are some contra-indications.

Mm. I don’t have any kidney problems and I’m not pregnant (not sure if this was really on the list!), and I’m not going to use it on my skin, so a salad for tea will be fine. I’m sure.

In any case, as always, I am so pleased to have a garden offering which came to me as a gift of nature.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nasturtiums for tea

  1. Good to know. I plan on growing them next spring as part of my rabbits diet.

  2. Nasturtium flowers are lovely in salad – no idea of nutritional value but they look and taste great. Mine have been hopeless this year – don’t know why – been eaten by slugs or something. The other thing I discovered about them is that they deter whitefly in greenhouses etc (I know that’s a sore point for you but just in case you get one again). I used to have a greenhouse and nasturtiums self-seeded and they kept the whitefly away. But they’re best just to look at.

    • Helen says:

      I think the nasturtiums acted as a decoy for my cabbages – pity they might not be happy inside because it would be nice if they could also stop aphids there!

      I don’t know enough about them, though, to be able to say why yours might not have done so well this year.

      Anyway, I think I am definitely a fan of nasturtium leaves. I’ve decided I like them more than lettuce 🙂

  3. Awesome update mine were poor this year had them in a wall planter have a blessed weekend Helen

  4. Nasturtiums in poor ground produce lots of flowers, in good ground they produce mostly foliage. They are also great for keeping caterpillars of white butterflies away from the brassicas,. On top of that, I like eating them. Never knew about the whitefly. Interesting post, as always. 😉

    • Helen says:

      I didn’t know that nasturtiums had more foliage or flowers depending on soil fertility. Where they have self-seeded in the vegetable patch must be okay then as there are more leaves than flowers. The plants are generally more robust there than where they were at the back of the garden, which this post is about. No wonder my courgettes in this spot failed miserably!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

