Ground clearance

After getting sidetracked on Friday, I was going to finish the job of clearing the ground for our bikes on Monday. But being a master of procrastination, late this afternoon I somehow found time to get out into the garden and do some digging.

 

after pulling upwanted vegetation

 
The upshot was two mounds of dandelion leaves, crocosmia, self-seeded brambles and bits of hawthorn. One bit of the latter had berries on it, so I’ve left that available for the birds. Then it can go in my next hugel bed, which all being well will be prepared in about a month’s time.

As for the crocosmia, they have been strewn about the front garden. My dad took a clump of mine a few years ago and accidentally dropped some corms. Result: a whole bed of the stuff. So, when I say ‘strewn about’ I really mean carefully placed at the back of the front garden. Just not dug in. 

If they die, I will be happy to be rid of a bit of a gardening headache. If they live, they will fill some ground that will otherwise be hard to cultivate. I’ll let you know next year.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ground clearance

  1. It’s hard to force yourself to do these tasks in the garden. I wonder if we do too much. My sister ignores hers and still gets plenty to eat. I would try it myself, but my husband would never go for it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Helen says:

      Actually, the procrastination was over sorting out the fish tank I bought my daughter – I was scared of damaging it. However, once I’d been in the garden I was able to get it done, so now I’ve got a happy daughter and a beautiful fish tank.

      One of the things I like about permaculture is that I don’t have to spend hours doing drudgery in the garden, though as I am still setting it all up (in particular, building soil fertility) there is some of that. Regarding the work I did yesterday, that has nothing to do with food or flowers: I simply need the bikes out of the sitting room, especially as they are precariously placed next to a full fish tank ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing just lately most of my time has been watching you tube and reading my emails rather than getting into the garden last Friday before I started sorting my raspberry’s have I finished no never mind I get it done have a blessed week

    • Helen says:

      If you’ve been doing something else you either needed to do or enjoyed, that’s great. Good to hear you’ve sorted your raspberries anyway. Have a good day!

  3. gaiainaction says:

    I will be interested in hearing how you get on with your Hugel culture Helen.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

