Squeezing in the garlic

This year’s garlic is to be Marco. I’ve planted one clove’s worth where there is space (which has not been planted with garlic for four years, if ever). But what to do with the rest?

  
I managed to find some space behind the rhubarb. It’s a bit shady but I imagine if it grows, the rhubarb will be able to resist its allopathic charms.

Looks like I am going to be planting the remaining one and a half cloves somewhere in the forest garden. I’ve got work to do there first, though….

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Squeezing in the garlic

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  2. Kalamain says:

    What are you going to do if your rhubarb comes out with a hint of garlic? B-)

  3. gaiainaction says:

    You are well ahead of me Helen! I have my garlic cloves ready, as well as the onion bulbs but have not got down to planting them…. yours is a good reminder, and well done šŸ™‚

    • Helen says:

      Thank you!

      I think you are in plenty of time to plant your garlic. Mine doesn’t usually go on so early but I had the cloves and some space so I have made a start.

  4. You could always poke some cloves into some pots šŸ™‚ Garlic doesn’t like weeds, so I wouldn’t close plant it near other perennials. I always dedicate as much room as possible to mine. Nothing beats home grown garlic.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

