After six weeks….

Six weeks ago, I borrowed a rather large book from the library, Ken Follett’s Edge of Eternity. I’d been looking forward to having a book to really get my teeth into but it did mean that not much else got done, aside from work and other essentials, for quite some time.

In the middle of September, when I started the book, the garden was green and flourishing. Yesterday morning, as I came to the end of it, I looked out my bedroom window and noticed the contrast now, as we head towards November.

  
Next door’s leaves adorn the soil at the moment. They won’t be there much longer, I imagine though, as there have typically been high winds towards the end of the year – but there is a first time for everything!

Talking of leaves, we found a beautiful park behind York Minster last Saturday, where my daughter enjoyed playing with the sycamore leaves.

  
They were still largely green but I wonder what colour they are now? Maybe like our Halloween pumpkin they are going orange?

  

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to After six weeks….

  1. A nice snapshot of early fall, Helen. That’s a handsome looking pumpkin.

  2. awesome update Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed week a head

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

