The last of the outdoor tomatoes

Yesterday, we took our monthly trip to Old Sleningford Farm. It was a gloomy day with thick fog which did not lift. However, it was warm in the greenhouse/polytunnel, where we were collecting the last of the tomatoes and taking down the vines.

  
The structure featured above is almost as big as my garden, so there is no chance I could erect anything similar. Notwithstanding, my outdoor tomatoes had been doing very well. But if the Old Sleningford vines were coming down, I thought it was time to get my tomatoes in.

  
The gloom continues – and even though the fog is set to lift, there is going to be plenty of rain into next week. So, there seemed to be little point in risking blight, or any other disease which might come along.

This little lot will ripen in the next couple of weeks, in any case!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The last of the outdoor tomatoes

  1. Great photo – do you use a banana to ripen the tomatoes?

  2. Pingback: What Warren Buffett taught me | quercuscommunity

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

