Peppers left out in the cold

Whilst at Old Sleningford Farm on Sunday, the talk had turned to nettles, and the use thereof. Which prompted me to make a batch of nettle cordial yesterday (to start making it, as it will take a week in all).

The nettles I used had been growing out of the growbag containing my most magnificent chilli plant. What a fortunate place to self-seed, considering how nettles attract beneficial insects, which eat the aphids, which might attack your plants.

As if the glow of this win-win situation wasn’t enough, whilst picking the leaves off the nettle plant, I noticed the first signs of a chilli pepper ripening. Incredible!

  
It’s not been unduly cold so far this autumn but the fog over the last couple of days certainly stopped any sun getting through. I guess, heat might be more important to fruit than sun in the ripening process but I am still surprised.

Who needs a greenhouse!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peppers left out in the cold

  1. Fantastic! Can’t wait to hear how the nettle cordial turns out! 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I’ve made the cordial before, so if all goes according to plan it should be ready by next Monday. It’s a bit different but perfectly palatable 🙂

  2. Lovely post Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

