Of cucumber and apples

Last night, I found enough energy after work to make it to Leeds Permaculture Network social. The talk was on coppicing and I was surprised to learn that we had so much of it going on in and around Leeds. Even more surprised perhaps that the council endorsed and supported it.

My immediate reaction was to get involved. However, I am good at biting off more than I can chew – realistically, this would detract from my main focus, which is becoming a better gardener. So, I will seek out these green spaces and enjoy them as a place to walk in and admire…. When I have the time.

There is not going to much of it this weekend, though. For at the meeting, what did I end up with in my bag?

  
Another new piece of information was that on Leeds University campus there are a number of apples trees. Why have I never noticed them? 

That’s a question I have no answer for. But a couple of sackfuls of windfalls were brought in for us to take home. And the plan is to make crumble with those I brought home with me.

On top of that, my daughter raced to get the only cucumber on offer, also grown at the university. It may be bitter but I think it will go very well in tsatsiki.

  
The yoghurt is already being made!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in In the kitchen, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Of cucumber and apples

  1. Kalamain says:

    I work for the council just south of Leeds *cough*notsayingitsname*cough* and we do it there too. We only deal with the smaller trees and shrubs, but forestry deals with the rest.

    We deal with willow and hazel mainly, using them as screens or property borders.

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing if david brings me any more quinces I will just freeze them until I got more jars and stocked up on sugar for making thing with them

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

