Cramming it in!

Back in March, when I bought myself a bokashi bin, I was very excited at the prospect of making compost out of food waste that would normally have had to go in the municipal collection (at least there is such where I live!).

At first, I wasn’t collecting very much for the bin, because I was still putting vegetable peelings in the regular compost heap. I do my best not to waste food, in view of the cost to me apart from what it does to the environment. But the occasional forgotten rasher of bacon or piece of burnt toast does get through the net. And they would be no good unprocessed outside in a heap of decaying garden waste.

However, not only was it taking an age to fill up the bokashi bin, by being so frugal with offerings, there wasn’t a lot of liquid coming off. (This juice was another incentive for me to process food waste; why buy liquid fertiliser when I could make my own?)

So, I started to put ALL food waste in the bokashi. And my! Did the bin fill up much more quickly and give me a plentiful supply of liquid fertiliser. This, incidentally, can be used in household cleaning, and I have been doing so with great satisfaction.

Now, I have just filled my third bin, a little behind schedule, as I had originally planned to use the bokashi mix in a hugel bed next weekend. Still, only one week behind schedule and the bin does work best when it is full to the brim, as this is an anaerobic process and air left at the top would inhibit the it to some extent.

 

Thankfully, the peelings and cores from the apples I got at the LPN social on Wednesday have been a timely offering. And while I wait for the bin to do its work I will enjoy the apple crumble that definitely won’t be processed for compost.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen, Permaculture, Social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cramming it in!

  1. drofmit4108 says:

    There is something rather special about a bokashi bin in a bathroom!!

  2. Fascinating. I’ve got to read more about this. I thought it was simply a place to gather food scraps, but it sounds like it processes them into a fertilizer.

  3. I have 2 bins which I use … one more advanced than the other. When ready, it gets dug into my garden. Love the pickled smell and I’m sure the garden loves it also. An excellent use of scraps!

  4. Awesome post Helen I have to look in to getting one have a blessed day and thank you for sharing

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

