Goji bushes

My dad has rethought his garden and decided amongst other things to get rid of his goji bushes. So, I was presented with two of them today.

 

They seem very healthy but have nowhere to go in my garden right now. Conveniently, however, there were pots with compost, now that the tomato plants have gone in the compost heap.

So, it looks like this will be their home until at least next year. I’d like to make a hugel bed in what used to be the garden path and which is now where the frame of the greenhouse stands. 

The ground is so compacted there that it will take some considerable effort to do any digging but I made a start by planting as best I could in the borders this year. And in the long run I hope it will be a viable growing space.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Social and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Goji bushes

  1. What a nice and unexpected gift, Helen.

    Are you still sheet mulching areas of your garden over the winter to help improve your soil?

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I will be sheet mulching, or at least covering the soil with cardboard, which this year I’ve been hoarding as I go along 🙂

      Have you ever eaten goji berries? I don’t actually know what they taste like.

      • Kalamain says:

        Sorry for hijacking a comment thread.
        Does covering with paper/cardboard really help the soil any? I’m trying to improve some soil for a veg plot for next year. Did you do a post about it?
        Something I can read to get ideas?
        Ta!
        Oh. And goji berries taste a bit like cranberries. Slightly bitter but best served in a mixed fruit bowl.

        • Helen says:

          Oh good, I like cranberries 🙂

          Anyway, re sheet mulching, I have had some success in getting rid of my front lawn by these means but I’m going to have to do it again in places this winter.

          As for improving soil, I think you need to be putting the cardboard over some vegetation (such as grass) for the best results, otherwise you might as well just mulch with manure or compost.

          Last winter, in the back garden I just put cardboard down to protect the soil from wind and reduce the number of weeds. Or mostly, as there were (and still are) patches of grass to get rid of.

        • Helen says:

          The disappearing front lawn | silverbells steps out
          https://silverbells2012.wordpress.com/2015/01/05/the-disappearing-front-lawn/

          This post shows you when I had just started to do the sheet mulching on my front lawn. There is definitely no lawn left now but as said a few moments ago, I need to do the same again in places as the grass has not completely gone.

          Also, the soil underneath the lawn was pretty poor quality and when I dig in I can see a marked difference between the top centre metre or so, where I’ve mulched, and what was there before.

          I could have been more generous with manure, which might have suppressed the grass more. On the other hand, the worms, which are there a-plenty, will gradually take down the goodness, I hope.

      • I’ve had dried goji berries and goji berry juice. They’re tart and supposedly loaded with all sorts of beneficial things. Lucky, lucky you!

  2. lovely post Helen thank you for sharing
    have a blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

