The heather

A couple of year’s ago, I bought a very small heather, partly because I believe in supporting any enterprise which upholds nature. I had no idea where to put it, though, so it languished in its very small pot on the patio for far longer than was good for it.

In fact, I thought it was dead by the time it went into the ground. I held out hope, nonetheless, and last summer/autumn it showed some signs of recovery. The browned branches developed a few leaves.

Throughout this summer it continued to grow greener and now it is adorned by beautiful pink flowers. So, I hope moving it this afternoon has done it no disservice.

 

Since learning about forest gardens, the back half of my back garden is no longer the place for the heather, if it ever really was, considering how hot and dry it can be. Overall, a bit more shade will be welcomed, I think, and it will gladden my heart to see it whenever I arrive home, now that it is in the front garden instead.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The heather

  1. I must admit I’ve been put off growing heather in the past because I’d always imagined it to be a fussy plant that likes things Just So, but after reading your post it seems they are in fact proper little troopers! šŸ™‚ Do you know which type of heather it is by any chance?

    • Helen says:

      I’m afraid I don’t know off hand. I think the label for it has blown away, but apart from understanding heather to prefer acidic soil (which mine is not), I hadn’t heard it was fussy. It grows profusely on the moors just south of where I come from, which is not the most hospitable of places. So, I’d recommend you give heather a go šŸ™‚

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

