An obstacle overcome

You know when there is a job you need to do and until it’s done others have to wait? I’ve had one such in the form of a large paving stone sitting underneath my kitchen windowsill.

the paving stone was heavy

Goodness knows how it got there but I need it elsewhere, so that there is more space for the herb garden I hope to establish next year. There is also the matter of the Wendy house, which is still in situ, but an hour of lifting the stone 

  
and walking it across the garden to its new resting place by the back fence

  
was enough exertion for one day.

With the stone removed from its original position, I can now focus on all the other jobs that I’ve been waiting to get on with, apart from the issue of the Wendy house.

I was pleased that a clump of grass on the herb garden-to-be has been killed off by cardboard

grass next to the dandelion has gone

and this prompted me to put down cardboard over a patch of now empty ground. There aren’t any (visible) weeds there but the cardboard will stop them sowing themselves over winter. Or germinating!

And now I need to wash the clothes which got totally covered in mud… 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to An obstacle overcome

  1. Lovely post Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed evening

  2. Elle says:

    I didn’t know that cardboard could do such a thing. Thank you so much for the tip. And well done for the removal of wayward slab. It does beg the question of how and why it came to be there? Maybe a mystery for all time!

    • Helen says:

      I think that it might have been left by the builders or have been put down under decking, some of which was still on the property when I moved in. It was rotten, so removing the rest was one of the first jobs I did.

      Anyway, sheet mulching is a good way of using cardboard boxes 🙂

  3. It sounds like you need a hot bath to me.
    Honey

  4. gaiainaction says:

    Helen, you are a marvel! An inspiration for me as I too have several of these projects that need doing, and I’ve got to start them big time………….. 🙂

  5. The easy way round kill weeds is to put cheap vinegar in a bottle and spray it. Use cardboard to protect plants you want to keep. Don’t spray wet or before rain. It can go to compost a day or two later.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

