An unusual November

I think we’ve had more warmth, and definitely more rain, this November than we did over the summer. Now, rain in late autumn is not surprising but daytime temperatures of 17 degrees (nighttime 13) are a tad different from the norm.

That might not be the best signal for the climate as a whole but in my personal microcosm it ain’t a bad thing. Not for the outdoor chillies, anyway.

   

Who’d have thought chillies would ripen outside at this time of year? I’m even a little surprised that my cauliflowers have been doing so well, even if they are misshapen.

 

Perhaps I will look into why the flowers are growing in such a fashion. Are they bolting? Is it to do with the soil, the weather? Whatever the answer, I think they will be eaten sooner, rather than later, so I could be in for a hunger gap which I hadn’t planned for next spring.

I say this somewhat tongue-in-cheek, as on my little plot I am hardly feeding my daughter and I. On the other hand, I hear such good reports about John Dowding’s no-dig system (that is, the amount of produce you can get from small spaces), I am hopeful in the long run of greater abundance.

As with last year, I have been keeping a diary of what we consume from our own land throughout the year. It will therefore be interesting to compare results at the end of 2015. So, watch out for the post on this subject in a few weeks’ time.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to An unusual November

  1. Kalamain says:

    Yes…. Its REALLY mild here too.
    It was about 13 degrees yesterday. I was outside in a t-shirt….Amazing!

  2. lovely post Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed week

  3. gaiainaction says:

    So Helen, your cauliflower is bolting, it must be this warmer than usual weather all right. I have not even set a foot in my garden, except to harvest some kale, it is so wet, everything is sodden! But it is mild still. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. We have had a extremely mild and unseasonly warm and dry fall.
    We talk to our neighbor earlier this week as he was pulling out a sprinkler system to water his crops. He said they had not been used since the 70s that was by his father. That was for summer crops not during the fall. He has never seen them or used before. He is worried about next year crops surviving so long with out water. Farmers are worried if we are going to have a drought this summer.

    We have had 15C and glorious sunshine. Halloween was dry and unseasonably warm. I wore 3 layers of clothing hoping it would keep me warm. We usually have had snow by then. We had mice in our house in June and none in November. I find it alarming.

    Your chilli plants look great. Are your cauliflower infested with green catapillars? We had them as well. They are verocious eaters. I found no effective way of getting rid of them myself. I didn’t grow Cauliflower this year.
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      We had a very dry winter last year, so I was watering throughout. Even though it is nice for us to have mild weather, we need the cold for so many reasons. Thus, I hope there will be a change in the weather for you soon…. We had hail today and it has been much cooler, so maybe the change is happening.

      As for the caulis, thankfully no green caterpillars – I think the birds have perhaps been pecking at the leaves, or it could be slugs ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Chillies never cease to amaze me .. I’m due to plant mine any day. I’m sure that cauli will still be very tasty ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Helen says:

      Of course ๐Ÿ˜‰ Looking forward to that cauli in a few days.

      I hope your chillies do well. I’ve been overrun with them this year (not complaining!).

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

