Out of the mud

The garden is sodden, really sodden, and the squelch of mud is not far behind. However, working on the principle that it is better to do a little often, I went out to pull up an old tomato plant. 

Then, once the lid was off the compost bin, I decided to add a few more things, including the sweetcorn stalks. These had, in autumn, started to produce cobs, so it seemed reasonable to see what would become of them.

  
Well, not the most developed corn I’ve ever seen but it is going to be tried out this lunchtime, before we head to the Christkindelmarkt in town this afternoon. I have a feeling, though, that as the corn was growing in a hugel bed, the extra warmth and/or nutrition may have benefited the plant…. 

And there were certainly lots of worms around the roots of the plants!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Out of the mud

  1. A baby cob of corn. How exciting!

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. gaiainaction says:

    Your corn looks so silky, lovely. Little and often is a great idea, I should take the example 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

